AN ONGOING NEWSLETTER June 2005


Frequently Asked Questions
The Author Speaks!

If you have questions, send them to us, and we'll try to get an answer from The Source Of All Wisdom.

Group Coherency

Q: Does a routing figure still count as part of group when working out coherency?

A: Yes, until it leaves the table, at which point it no longer counts.

Firing

Q: Can burst fire be directed at separate targets?

A: Although it’s probably unrealistic to engage 2 separate targets 180º apart, we allowed it for simplicity (trying to avoid too many “special case” rules). If you find it impossible to accept, limit it to targets no more than 50cm apart.

Q: When shooting at panicked figures, do they count as dropped down, thus gaining an advantageous modifier if shot at?

A: No.

Q: When do you lose Opportunity Fire? It says (top of page 11) that you lose it at the end of the current turn. This means that if ‘A’ is on OF this turn but loses the initiative next turn, ‘B’ can run round a corner and shoot him. But really, ‘A’ should still be waiting for him. Surely OF should remain until the start of the group’s next activation.

A: We found that if you don’t remove OF at the end of a turn, in effect the figure on OF has automatic initiative next turn. So your opponent still can’t move without getting shot at. This slows the game down considerably. By taking OF away at the end of each turn, initiative can change hands in a real sense. This may be a case of realism sacrificed to game-play but we think it’s the best option.

Q: What happens to a figure panicked by OF? Is he immediately reduced to 3AP or does he complete whatever actions he started but end up panicked?

A: If you panic a figure with OF, he gets only 3 AP that turn. If he has used 2 AP up to that point, he has only 1 left. If he’s used 3 or more, he must stop. He has no more that turn.

Remember, we have no problems with people devising their own rules variations and interpretations. If something different works for you – go for it. So long as everyone playing knows in advance what the “house rules” are, that’s fine.

If you have an interesting variation send it to CoZoChron: We'd like to see it!

Q: When do you lose Opportunity Fire? It says (top of page 11) that you lose it at the end of the current turn. This means that if ‘A’ is on OF this turn but loses the initiative next turn, ‘B’ can run round a corner and shoot him. But really, ‘A’ should still be waiting for him. Surely OF should remain until the start of the group’s next activation.

A: We found that if you don’t remove OF at the end of a turn, in effect the figure on OF has automatic initiative next turn. So your opponent still can’t move without getting shot at. This slows the game down considerably. By taking OF away at the end of each turn, initiative can change hands in a real sense. This may be a case of realism sacrificed to game-play but we think it’s the best option.

Q: What happens to a figure panicked by OF? Is he immediately reduced to 3AP or does he complete whatever actions he started but end up panicked?

A: If you panic a figure with OF, he gets only 3 AP that turn. If he has used 2 AP up to that point, he has only 1 left. If he’s used 3 or more, he must stop. He has no more that turn.

Remember, we have no problems with people devising their own rules variations and interpretations. If something different works for you – go for it. So long as everyone playing knows in advance what the “house rules” are, that’s fine. If you have an interesting variation send it to CoZoChron: We'd like to see it!


RULES

HOME

EMAIL US

Counter